Home / Bahawalpur


Bahawalpur, is a city situated in the Punjab province of Pakistan. Bahawalpur is the twelfth largest town in Pakistan. The town conjointly lies close to the traditional Derawar Fort within the Cholistan Desert close to the border with Republic of India, and is the entree to Pakistan’s Lal Suhanra national park.

Bahawalpur was once the capital of the previous princely state of Bahawalpur dominated by Nawabs. The Nawabs of Bahawalpur were considered a part of the Rajputana States, the bulk of that currently form the majority of the neighbouring Indian state of Rajasthan.

Bahawalpur was founded in 1748, during a region close to the historical town of Uch, that was once a defense of the Delhi sultanate. The princely state of Bahawalpur was founded in 1802 by Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan II once the break-up of the Durrani Empire, and was primarily based within the town. Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan III signed a written agreement with British people on twenty two February 1833, guaranteeing the independence of the Nawab and the autonomy of Bahawalpur as a princely state.

Irrigation from canals such as this provides the town with fertile soil for crop production.

The main crops that Bahawalpur is recognised for are cotton, sugarcane, wheat, flower seeds, rape/mustard seed and rice. Bahawalpur mangoes, citrus, dates and guavas are a number of the fruits exported out of the country. Vegetables include onions, tomatoes, cauliflower, potatoes and carrots. Being an increasing industrial town, the govt. has revolutionised and libertised numerous markets permitting the caustic soda, cotton ginning and pressing, flour mills, fruit juices, general engineering, iron and steel re-rolling mills, looms, oil mills, poultry feed, sugar, textile spinning, textile weaving, vegetable ghee and oil industries to flourish.