. .

Institution Profile
Mehran University of Engineering & Technology

Sep 24 - 30, 2001

Industrial and technological development in Pakistan has been quite rapid since its independence and particularly during the sixties and seventies. The main fields of development have been related to the enhancement of agriculture, establishment of and up-gradation of industries and exploration of its indigenous resources. This development has resulted in increased demand for qualified engineers in different fields in addition to other professionals. In order to meet this demand and to provide an opportunity of engineering education to the people hailing from the interior of Sindh Province, Sindh University Engineering College was established in 1963 as a constituent college of University of Sindh (then spelt 'Sind') in Jamshoro about 15 km. from Hyderabad on the right bank of river Indus.

The Education Policy of 1972 provided for up-gradation of the Sindh University Engineering College to the level of a University of Engineering and Technology. Accordingly, the college was first declared as an additional campus of the University of Sindh headed by a Pro-Vice-Chancellor in July 1976 and later upgraded to the level of a full-fledged independent University on 1st March, 1977 through an ordinance issued by the Government of Sindh. The ordinance was later converted into an Act of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh Province. The new University was named as "Mehran University of Engineering and Technology". Initially, the Additional Campus as well the Mehran University was established in the City of Nawabshah, necessitating shifting of the most of the infrastructure from Jamshoro. However, in 1979, the Act of the University was amended and the seat of the University was retained at Jamshoro, while a constituent College titled ' Mehran University College of Engineering and Technology' was maintained at Nawabshah, to cater for the needs of the engineering education of upper Sindh. The Mehran University College of Engineering and Technology, Nawabshah, has also become an independent University in 1996, which has been renamed as Quaid-e-Awam University of Engineering Sciences and Technology'. Consequently, Mehran University of Engineering and Technology now exists only at Jamshoro, having territorial jurisdiction over the Hyderabad and Mirpurkhas Divisions of Sindh Province. Nevertheless, few seats are still reserved for the candidates coming from other divisions of Sindh Province.

The number of students admitted to the First Year classes of all the under-graduate disciplines is 576 out of which 537 candidates are admitted from Sindh Province, including Karachi Division, according to a precisely calculated ratio of population and other considerations. 21 applicants are admitted from other parts of Pakistan while 18 seats are reserved for the foreigners. The detailed distribution of the seats is given in Section 6 of this Prospectus.

Most of the laboratories and workshops of the teaching departments are properly equipped and practical as well as demonstrational training is imparted to the students wherever applicable. Continuous efforts are ongoing to upgrade these facilities for the practical training and new equipment is acquired for this purpose. Additionally, training to the concerned staff is also organized within the University as well as outside. In some cases, where the training facilities are not available within the University, the students are sent to suitable institutes in Karachi or elsewhere to undergo adequate training. Every department has been provided adequate number of personal computers and e-mail and Internet facilities for the training and use of the students as well teaching staff.

The postgraduate courses were started in the University in 1978 leading to M.E. Degree, initially, in three branches. At present, courses are offered in the specialized fields of 'Structural Engineering, Public Health Engineering, Telecommunication and Control Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering, Electrical Power Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Transportation Engineering, Irrigation and Drainage Engineering, Environmental Engineering & Management and Geotechnical Engineering. Some courses are offered full time during the day while others are part-time conducted during the evenings. Sometimes, some particular course may be dropped in a given year because of non-availability of adequate number of students. The degrees to be awarded may be Post-graduate Diploma (P.G.D.), Master of Engineering (M.E.), Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.) or Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.); depending upon the quality and quantity of the research/work completed.

Post-graduate studies and research are organized by various departments as well as the following specialized institutes.

Institute of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering
Institute of Environmental Engineering and Management
Institute of Petroleum & Natural Gas Engineering

More details about the Post-graduate courses, curricula, duration, fees, etc., are provided separately in the Prospectus on Post-graduate studies; which may be obtained from the office of the Director, Postgraduate Studies, Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Jamshoro. Hostel facilities are also available for about 1100 students on the campus both male and female; which are located at walking distance from the teaching departments. These hostels are equipped with necessary facilities including bathrooms, reading rooms, game rooms, dining halls, etc.