Home / This Week / Cover Stories / Resolution Day remembrance

Resolution Day remembrance

The day is remembered and celebrated every year to commemorate the adoption of Pakistan Resolution by the All India Muslim League in March 1940 at Lahore’s Minto Park (now Iqbal Park) which was presented by A. K. Fazlul Haq. This was the day when Muslims of the Indo-Pak subcontinent committed themselves to achieve an independent state of their own. The Lahore Resolution proved to be a successful long struggle by the Muslims of the subcontinent for their emancipation from the joint British and Hindu domination.

It took almost seven years after the Pakistan Resolution that a new Muslim state emerged on the world scene. There should be a democratic Islamic Republic of Pakistan free from dictatorships.

Founded by Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah in 14th August 1947, Pakistan has brief history like the main concept of Pakistan was kept by Allama Muhammad Iqbal in 29th December 1930. The name Pakistan was declared in 28th January 1933 by Chaudhary Rehmat Ali, Pakistan Resolution was passed in 23rd March 1940. Pakistan was established as Islamic Republic in 23rd March 1956.

“Pakistan not only means freedom and independence but the Muslim Ideology which has to be preserved, which has come to us as a precious gift and treasure and which, we hope other will share with us,” a message of Muhammad Ali Jinnah for the Day.

We will discuss the Lahore resolution which also known as the Pakistan Resolution 1940. Lahore Resolution which is famous as the Resolution of Pakistan also known as Republic Day. The adoption of the first constitution of Pakistan during the transition of the territory of Pakistan to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan on March 23, 1956 making Pakistan the world’s first Islamic republic. The people of Pakistan celebrate this day every year to remember the Lahore Resolution Day.

The day’s parade by the armed forces is a common celebration for the event. The day is celebrated in the memory to commemorate the event when the Muslim League drafted the political resolution at the Minar-e-Pakistan. The Day called for establishing an independent federation comprising provinces with Muslim majority located in north-western and north-eastern region of British controlled territories in India. Main celebrations are held in Islamabad – the capital of Pakistan. President of Pakistan is usually the Chief Guest of the event. News channels cover the whole event live. The holidays include a full military and civilian parade in the capital, Islamabad regarding the celebration. The event is held early morning. The celebrations are well managed by armed forces.

Pakistan pays tribute to the heroes of the Pakistan Movement who through Lahore Resolution made Pakistan a possibility. Lahore, better known as The Lahore Resolution hold three-day general session in Minto Park. An integral and dynamic reform during the Pakistan’s Movement, it initially called for the creation of a group of ‘independent states’ for Muslims. As a result of the sacrifice and sheer dedication of the members of the Pakistan Movement, the resolution evolved as a demand for a separate and single Muslim state called Pakistan.

Our great leaders who made achievements on Pakistan Resolution for the Independence state for us are:

Quaid-E-Azam (Baba-I-Quam Quaid-E-Azam)

In 1940, the Muslim League, led by Quaid-e-Azam, passed the Lahore Resolution, demanding a separate nation. The Quaid’s vision was not only to create a separate homeland for Muslims, but was to build a secure and secular homeland where minorities, women, and the youth can enjoy the true essence of freedom.

Allama-Iqbal (Shair-E-Mashriq Allama Iqbal)

Also known as the ‘Spiritual Founder of Pakistan,’ Sir Muhammad Allama Iqbal woke the conscience of the Muslims of Sub-Continent through his poetic and philosophic works. Allama Iqbal, who was the first to dream of a separate homeland for Muslims, is widely regarded as having inspired the Pakistan Movement.

Liaqat-Ali-Khan (Shaheed-E-Millat Liaqat Ali Khan)

The first Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nawabzada Liaqat Ali Khan, was one of the leading Founding Fathers of modern Pakistan. Jinnah told party members that the ultimate aim was to obtain Pakistan. With the ultimate goal to achieve ‘Pakistan,’ Liaqat Ali Khan during the years of Pakistan Movement, moved a resolution incorporating the objectives of the Pakistan Resolution in the aims and objectives of the Muslim League. The resolution was seconded and passed unanimously.


Sir Syed Ahmed Khan (Great Visionary, Statesman)

The force behind The Alighar Movement, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan was a great visionary, statesman and Muslim reformer recognized for being the first Indian Muslim to contribute to the intellectual and institutional foundation of Muslim modernization in the Sub-continent.

Hafeez Jullundhri (An Anthem Writer)

Abu Al-Asar Hafeez Jullundhri, penned the lyrics of the national anthem. A writer and poet by profession, Jullundhri actively participated in Pakistan Movement while using his writings to propagate for the cause of Pakistan. Hafeez Jullundhri is also credited for writing Kashmiri Anthem, “Watan Hamara Azad Kashmir”.

K. Fazul Haq (Sher-E-Bangla)

The Lahore Resolution also known as Qarardad-e-Lahore, presented by Sher-e-Bangla A. K. Fazlul Huq. The Prime Minister of Bengal, was a formal political statement adopted by the All-India Muslim League on the occasion of its three-day general session in Lahore on March 22–24, 1940.

Choudhry Rahmat Ali (Proponent Of The Name ‘Pakistan’)

Choudhry Rahmat Ali, one of the earliest proponents of the creation of a separate Muslim homeland, coined the name ‘Pakistan’ in his famous 1933 pamphlet titled “Now or Never; Are We to Live or Perish Forever.”

The pamphlet later in came to be known as the “Pakistan Declaration”.

M. Syed (Representative Of Pakistan Resolution In The Sindh Assembly)

Under the influence of Sindhi activist, revolutionary and Sufi G. M. Syed, the Sindh Assembly was the first British Indian legislature to pass the resolution in favor of Pakistan. He joined the Muslim League in 1938 and was one of the forefront leaders of Sindh.

Ali Chagla (Composer Of Pakistan National Anthem)

Ahmed Ghulam Ali Chagla, the first Pakistani musical composer, wrote the musical composition for the national anthem of Pakistan in 1950. Chagla was awarded President’s Pride of Performance in 1997 for his contribution to composing the national anthem.

Sir Shah Nawaz Khan Of Mamdot (Chairman Of Lahore Resolution Reception Committee)

Sir Shah Nawaz Khan, an eminent freedom fighter, had the honour of making the opening speech during Lahore Resolution in 1940. He was also the chairman of the reception committee and personally bore all the expenses.

Check Also

Kamyab Jawan key scheme for youth development

Kamyab Jawan: key scheme for youth development

The Government of Pakistan (GoP) has launched ‘Prime Minister’s Kamyab Jawan SME Lending Program’ aimed …

Leave a Reply